Call for Applications: University Research Awards (Application Deadline: April 1, 2017)

Posted on Monday, March 20th, 2017


CSAHS policy and procedures for
University Research Awards
Approved by CSAHS Dean’s Council on January 20 2017

The following CSAHS provisions are supplemental to the Memorandum of December 9 2016 from the Office of the VP Research concerning the University Research Awards programs. Please consult both the VPR University Research Awards guidelines and the following CSAHS guidelines.

  1. Research Excellence Awards

Award:  CSAHS will supplement the $5000 research prize from the University with an additional $5000.

CSAHS internal selection process:  At its final meeting in the fall, the College T and P committee will consider for this award all faculty awarded tenure that year, as well as any outstanding candidates who were granted tenure but not nominated by the College the previous year.  The T and P committee will select the College’s nominee using the criteria set out in the memo from the VP Research’s office and the materials in candidates’ tenure and promotion files, including letters from external referees.

  1. Research Leadership Chairs

Award:  CSAHS will supplement the annual $15,000 in research funds from the University with an additional $5000 per year. 

Normally the DOE for a Research Leadership Chair in CSAHS will be 60% (research) 20% (teaching) 20% (service).

CSAHS internal application process:  Interested candidates who meet the eligibility criteria may submit a full CV and detailed letter of self-nomination to the Dean (  Letters should make the case for distinguished and sustained, nationally and internationally recognized research excellence, in accordance with the criteria set out in the memo from the VP Research’s office.

The deadline for applications is April 1, with an anticipated start date of July 1.

Applications will be reviewed by a committee comprising the Dean (chair), two associate deans, the research manager, the three faculty members who sit on the CSAHS Research Support Committee, and two additional faculty members, such that all CSAHS departments are represented by a faculty member.

Each college can hold no more than two Research Leadership Chairs. We expect to award one CSAHS RLC in 2017 and one in 2019. Subsequently, applications will be solicited when there is a vacancy in the College.

Membership of the committee for 2017 is:

Gwen Chapman (Dean)
Belinda Leach (ADR)
Byron Sheldrick (ADA)
Carina Hernandez (Research Manager)
Paula Barata (Psychology)
Satsuki Kawano (Sociology and Anthropology)
Tuuli Kukkonen (Family Relations and Applied Nutrition)
Aaron Berg (Geography)
Ian Spears (Political Science)

News Archive